News Flash Home
The original item was published from 10/17/2016 3:40:18 PM to 12/24/2016 12:00:02 AM.

News Flash

Essex County

Posted on: October 17, 2016

[ARCHIVED] Essex County Leaf Collection Schedule 2016

Leaves May Be Placed in Biodegradable Bags or Swept to the Curb

Essex County, NJ – Essex County Executive Joseph N. DiVincenzo, Jr. announced Essex County’s 2016 Leaf Collection Schedule for County Roads. Residents whose properties are on County Roads may place their leaves in biodegradable bags or sweep the loose leaves into piles at the curb.

To organize leaf collection on County roads, Essex County is divided into four sectors. There will be three pickups in each section of the County. DiVincenzo has asked residents on County roads to check the county leaf collection schedule and coordinate their fall cleanup activities with the County. Leaves should be swept to the curb or placed in biodegradable bags at the curb no more than seven days before the scheduled pickup time. In addition, residents are asked to pile leaves at least 10 feet from a storm drain.

The following schedule lists the four sectors, the municipalities included in each section and the collection times when leaves will be picked up in each section.

• Section I: (Cedar Grove, Millburn and West Orange) Monday, October 24th to Friday, October 28th; Monday, November 21st to Friday, November 25th; and Monday, December 19th to Friday, December 23rd.

• Section II: (South Orange and Maplewood) Monday, October 31st to Friday, November 4th; Monday, November 28th to Friday, December 2nd; and Monday, December 26th to Friday, December 30th.

• Section III: (Belleville and East Orange) Monday, November 7th to Friday, November 11th; Monday, December 5th to Friday, December 9th; and Monday, January 2, 2017 to Friday, January 6, 2017 (The last pick up will be made only if it is needed).

• Section IV: (Irvington, Newark and Orange) Monday, November 14th to Friday, November 18th; Monday, December 12th to Friday, December 16th; and Monday, January 9, 2017 to Friday, January 13, 2017 (The last pick up will be made only if it is needed).

Essex County has entered into shared services agreements with Bloomfield, Caldwell, Essex Fells, Fairfield, Glen Ridge, Livingston, Montclair, North Caldwell, Nutley, Roseland, Verona and West Caldwell. In these municipalities, the local Department of Public Works will collect leaves on County roads. If your property is located on a County road in one of these towns, please consult your municipal Public Works Department for more information or to obtain a schedule.

Residents who have questions about the leaf collection schedule may call the Essex County Department of Public Works at 973-226-8500, Ext. 0.

Facebook Twitter Email