- Health and Welfare
- Bureau of Vital Statistics
- Marriage & Civil Union Licenses
Marriage & Civil Union Licenses
The Bureau of Vital Statistics is available for Marriage License Applications by appointment only between the hours of 9:00 am – 12:00 pm and 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm. Please call 973-325-4121 to schedule an appointment. At this time Vital Record Certified copy requests are only being processed through the mail. Please mail all requests to the West Orange Health Department, 66 Main Street, West Orange, NJ 07052. If you have any questions, please call 973-325-4121.
Obtaining a Marriage /Civil Union License
The license must be obtained from the municipality in which either party resides, if they live in New Jersey. If both parties live outside of New Jersey, the license must be obtained in the municipality in which the ceremony takes place. A license applied for and issued in New Jersey may never be used outside of New Jersey, and a license issued in another state may never be used in New Jersey.
Download the Application for Marriage, Remarriage, Civil Union, or Reaffirmation of Civil Union License . Please note to only fill out the first page. Do not sign the application. Print the entire document and bring to our office at 66 Main Street.
State law prohibits the issuance of a license sooner than 72 hours after application for a marriage / civil union license has been made unless a court order has been obtained that waives the waiting period. If the ceremony is scheduled for a Saturday or Sunday, the application should be made no later than the preceding Tuesday. It is important to know the intended date of the ceremony at the time application is made to ensure compliance of the 72-hour waiting period.
Completing the Application Separately
If either party is unable to complete the application at the same time, either applicant may complete their part of the application and start the 72-hour waiting period. The other applicant must return with the same witness to complete their part of the application. The application must be completed by both parties before the license can be issued.
Once the marriage / civil union license is issued, the ceremony must take place within 30 days. If either parties can only apply for their license several months prior to the intended date of marriage / civil union, the license simply remains in the files of the registrar until the license is issued within 30 days of the wedding. These arrangements should be made at time of application.
Please bring the following when applying for a license:
- Birth certificate (translated in English)
- Witness at least 18 years old and knows both parties
- License fee of $28 (payable by cash or check)
- Proof of address, such as a driver's license or utility bill
Additional Documents for Previously Married Applicants
If one or both of the applicants are divorced, a copy of the final decree(s) is required. If one or both of the applicants have had a previous civil union dissolved, domestic partnership terminated, civil union annulled, please bring the decree(s) or the civil annulment documents. If the former spouse / civil union or domestic partner is deceased, please bring the death certificate.
Application for Marriage, Remarriage, Civil Union, or Reaffirmation of Civil Union License